Welcome back!

The museum is now open from Wednesdays to Sundays. Purchase tickets in advance online.

Logo of National Nature Council

National Nature Council

Ambassadors in the profile-raising and fundraising efforts of the Canadian Museum of Nature.

A museum educator and two children look at aquatic invertebrates.

Connecting People with Nature

Want to know more about what we do? Our annual reports present our many projects and achievements.

  1. Home>
  2. About Us>
  3. The Museum Corporation>
  4. Staff and Governing Authorities

Staff and Governing Authorities

The Board of Trustees of the Canadian Museum of Nature represents Canadians across the country. The Board governs the museum and reports on its progress to Parliament through the Minister of Canadian Heritage. The President and Chief Executive Officer, Vice-Presidents and Management Team, responsible for strategic operating branches, ensure the effective performance of the museum.

Board of Trustees


Judith LaRocque, C.V.O., Ontario


Glenn Sakaki, Ontario


Allan Adam, Saskatchewan
Ron Calderoni, Quebec
Stephen Greenberg, Quebec
Heather Holden, British Columbia
Susan Knott, British Columbia
Linda Nowlan, British Columbia
Christian Robin, Manitoba
Mandy Woodland, Newfoundland and Labrador

President and Chief Executive Officer

Meg Beckel

Vice-President, Corporate Services

Charles Bloom

Vice-President, Experience and Engagement

Ailsa Barry

Vice-President, Marketing and Public Affairs

John Swettenham

Vice-President, Research and Collections

Jeffery M. Saarela, Ph.D.

Chief Advancement Officer

Laura Evans, C.F.R.E.

Chief Financial Officer

Ikram Zouari, C.P.A., C.G.A.

Management Team

Jean-Marc Gagnon, Ph.D., Chief Scientist
Sonja Gonsalves, Director, Human Resources Management Services
Katriina Ilves, Ph.D., Section Head, Zoology, Research and Collections
Angeline Laffin, Director, Visitor Experience
Martin Leclerc, Director, Facilities and Protection
Aaron Lussier, Ph.D., Section Head, Mineralogy, Research and Collections
Troy McMullin, Ph.D., Section Head, Botany, Research and Collections
Stacy Wakeford, M.A., Director, Content, Experience and Engagement
Jordan Mallon, Ph.D., Section Head, Palaeobiology, Research and Collections

Contact Information

Search GEDS (Government Electronic Directory Service) to find the person you're looking for.