Logo of nature.ca - Canadian Museum of Nature.
Logo of Natural History Notebooks.
 
Button: Home. Button: Resources. Button: Notebooks A-Z.
Button: Français.
Home > Dinosaurs > Hypacrosaurus Next
Text: Dinosaurs.
Hypacrosaurus
Photo: A Dinosaur, Hypacrosaurus altispinus.
A dinosaur, Hypacrosaurus altispinus
More Images »

Where are they found? North America

Map of the world.


The first species of the hadrosaurid dinosaur Hypacrosaurus was described in 1913 by palaeontologist Barnum Brown of the American Museum of Natural History (New York), from remains his field party had collected along the Red Deer River in Alberta in 1910.

The name Hypacrosaurus comes from Greek words meaning "nearly the highest lizard", reflecting that this dinosaur was only a little smaller than the largest carnivorous dinosaur, Tyrannosaurus rex, the "tyrant king lizard".

The species name that Brown attributed to Hypacrosaurus was altispinus, means "high spined". This refers to the extremely long neural spines of its backbone (vertebral column). These spines are the tallest amongst hadrosaurian dinosaurs.

Hypacrosaurus altispinus was about 9 m (29.5 ft.) long and weighed about 4 t (4.4 tn.).

The second species, H. stebingeri, was described in the mid 1990s from remains that include adult skeletons, as well as those of hatchlings with associated fossilized eggs and nests.

Hypacrosaurus dinosaurs are a kind of hadrosaur. The group name "hadrosaur" reflects the duck-bill shape of the members' snouts. Many different kinds of these duck-billed dinosaurs are known. Some hadrosaurs had crests on top of their heads. The crests were of many different shapes; some were solid, but most of them were hollow.

The crest of Hypacrosaurus altispinus was hollow. Scientists are not sure what purpose the hollow crest served. Interpretations suggest that the crests were used as acoustic resonating chambers for making noise used in communication or for visual display, allowing for individuals to recognize sex or species.

Hadrosaurs had grinding, elephant-like dentitions (teeth), and they seem to have appeared at the same time as woody, flowering plants. Hadrosaurs lived during the Late Cretaceous Period (from 95 to 65 million years ago).

Hadrosaurs were the most numerous plant-eating dinosaurs in the northern hemisphere during the latter part of the age of non-avian dinosaurs. Dinosaurs lived between 210 and 65 million years ago. Hypacrosaurus lived between 75 and 70 million years ago. Its remains have been found in Alberta and Montana.


More Images
Photo: Dinosaurs, Hypacrosaurus altispinus. Photo: A Dinosaur, Hypacrosaurus altispinus. Photo: A Dinosaur, Hypacrosaurus altispinus.


Looking for photos?

The Canadian Museum of Nature has thousands of unique images reflecting the diversity of the natural world—including the photos and illustrations here in our Natural History NotebooksContact us to learn more!


To cite this page for personal use:
Hypacrosaurus”. [Online]. Natural History Notebooks. Canadian Museum of Nature.
Last updated (Web site consulted

Previous
Button: Mammals. Photo: Lion (Panthera leo). Button: Birds. Photo: Golden Eagle (Aquila chrysaetos).
Button: Fish. Photo: Brown trout (Salmo trutta). Button: Reptiles. Photo: Komodo dragon (Varanus komodensis).
Button: Amphibians. Photo: Bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeiana). Button: Invertebrates. Photo: House fly (Musca domestica).
Button: Dinosaurs. Illustration: Tyrannosaurus rex. Archive slide: S71-116. Button: Prehistoric. Illustration: Muskox (Ovibos moschatus).
Button: Navigate the World. Illustration: Map of the world.
 
Text: Play the games and interactives from our Talisman Energy Fossil Gallery. Logo: Talisman Energy Fossil Gallery.

Reproduction Rights    Credits    Explore Nature!    Comments or Questions?

Next Previous Next Previous

Logo de nature.ca - Musée canadien de la nature.
Texte : Logo des Carnets d'histoire naturelle.
 
Bouton : Accueil. Bouton : Ressources. Bouton : Carnets A-Z.
Bouton : English.
Accueil > Dinosaures > Hypacrosaurus
Texte : Dinosaures.
   
Hypacrosaurus
Photo : Un dinosaure, Hypacrosaurus altispinus.
Un dinosaure, Hypacrosaurus altispinus
Autres images »

Où vit cet animal? Amérique du Nord

Carte du monde.


C'est le paléontologue Barnum Brown de l'American Museum of Natural History (New York) qui, en 1913, a décrit la première espèce de dinosaure hadrosauridé Hypacrosaurus à partir de restes que son équipe avait mis au jour en Alberta le long de la rivière Red Deer en 1910.

Tiré du grec, le nom Hypacrosaurus signifie « lézard presque le plus haut ». Ceci parce que ces dinosaures étaient à peine plus petits que le plus gros des carnivores, Tyrannosaurus rex, dont le nom veut dire « lézard roi » ou « lézard tyran.

Brown a donné à Hypacrosaurus le nom d'espèce altispinus, ou « longues épines » en raison des épines neurales qui hérissent sa colonne vertébrale : elles sont les plus longues de toutes les espèces d'hadrosaures.

Hypacrosaurus altispinus mesurait environ 9 m (29,5 pi) de longueur et pesait à peu près 4 t (4,4 ti).

La deuxième espèce, H. stebingeri, a été décrite au milieu des années 1990 à partir de divers restes, notamment des squelettes d'adultes et de nouveau-nés ainsi que les oeufs et les nids fossilisés qui y étaient associés.

Les dinosaures Hypacrosaurus font partie des hadrosaures, dont le nom fait référence au museau en bec de canard qui caractérise ce groupe. Il existe de nombreux types d'hadrosaures, dont certains portent des crêtes sur la tête. Celles-ci peuvent prendre de multiples formes; plusieurs sont massives, mais la plupart sont creuses.

La crête de Hypacrosaurus altispinus était creuse. Les scientifiques s'interrogent sur l'utilité de cet appendice. Selon certaines interprétations, il s'agirait d'une caisse de résonance servant à émettre des sons pour communiquer ou d'une parure permettant de reconnaître le sexe ou l'espèce.

Les hadrosaures, qui sont munis de dents masticatoires semblables à celles des éléphants, seraient apparus en même temps que les plantes ligneuses à fleurs. Ils vivaient pendant le Crétacé tardif (il y a 95 à 65 millions d'années).

Les hadrosaures étaient les dinosaures herbivores les plus abondants de l'hémisphère Nord à la fin de la période des dinosaures non aviens. Les dinosaures ont vécu il y a 210 millions à 65 millions d'années, Hypacrosaurus altispinus, pour sa part, existait il y a 75 à 70 millions d'années. On a mis au jour ses restes en Alberta et dans l'État américain du Montana.


Autres images
Photo : Dinosaures, Hypacrosaurus altispinus. Photo : Un dinosaure, Hypacrosaurus altispinus. Photo : Un dinosaure, Hypacrosaurus altispinus.


Texte: Des dinos en 3D! Regardez-les surgir du néant dans des animations époustouflantes. Manipulez des modèles 3D de fossiles à votre guise. Photo: image de l'animation Un bout de chemin avec un Chasmosaure.


Notice bibliographique pour un usage personnel :
« Hypacrosaurus ». [En direct]. Carnets d'histoire naturelle. Musée canadien de la nature.
Dernière mise à jour :  (Site Web consulté le

Bouton : précédent.
Bouton : Mammifères. Photo : lion, Panthera leo. Bouton : Oiseaux. Photo : Aigle royal, Aquila chrysaetos.
Bouton : Poissons. Photo : truite brune, Salmo trutta. Bouton : Reptiles. Photo : varan de Komodo, Varanus komodensis.
Bouton : Amphibiens. Photo : ouaouaron, Lithobates catesbeiana. Bouton : Invertébrés. Photo : mouche domestique, Musca domestica.
Bouton : Dinosaures. Illustration : Tyrannosaurus rex. Diapo d'archive S71-116. Bouton : Préhistoire. Illustration : boeuf musqué, Ovibos moschatus.
Bouton : Explorez le monde. Illustration : carte du monde.
 
Texte : Au jeu! Découvrez les jeux et les activités interactives de la Galerie des fossiles Talisman Energy. Logo : Galerie des fossiles Talisman Energy.

Droits de reproduction    Générique    J'explore la nature!    Commentaires ou questions?

Bouton : précédent. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : Précédent.