Logo of nature.ca - Canadian Museum of Nature.
Logo of Natural History Notebooks.
 
Button: Home. Button: Resources. Button: Notebooks A-Z.
Button: Français.
Home > Reptiles > Indian Gavial Next
Text: Reptiles.
   
Indian Gavial
Photo: Indian Gavial, Gavialis gangeticus.
Indian gavial, Gavialis gangeticus
More Images »

Where are they found? Asia

Map of the world.


The Indian gavial (or gharial) is one of the rarest crocodile species in Asia. For a long time, it was in no danger from humans, because it was dedicated to the god Vishnu and considered holy. But, although officially protected since the 1970s, the number of gavials has declined rapidly. A trade in skins and incidental killing by fisherfolk are principal causes. Increased river traffic and agriculture have also had an adverse effect. The species has become critically endangered throughout its range, which includes all major rivers and waterways of northern India and Burma (Myanmar). In 2006, the wild population was estimated to be 200 or less.

The Indian gavial is the crocodilian most strictly limited to life in the water. Its legs are quite weak, but its rear feet are extensively webbed and its oar-like tail is particularly powerful. It will usually leave the water only to bask or nest.

The females become mature when they reach about 3 m (10 ft.) in length (at least 10 years old). A female will lay 30 to 50 eggs on land, usually on sandbanks. The young are about 40 cm (16 in.) long when they hatch. They grow to be quite large: males can reach a length of more than 6 m (20 ft.).

The most striking characteristic of the Indian gavial is the long, narrow snout—it is about three and a half times longer than its breadth at the base. This long snout, with its razor-sharp teeth, is an excellent tool for grasping fishes and frogs, but it is not powerful enough for larger prey. The Indian gavial is generally a pale olive-to-tan colour, with dark blotches on the body and tail.


More Images
Photo: Indian Gavial, Gavialis gangeticus.


Looking for photos?

The Canadian Museum of Nature has thousands of unique images reflecting the diversity of the natural world—including the photos and illustrations here in our Natural History NotebooksContact us to learn more!


To cite this page for personal use:
“Indian Gavial”. [Online]. Natural History Notebooks. Canadian Museum of Nature.
Last updated (Web site consulted

Previous
Button: Mammals. Photo: Lion (Panthera leo). Button: Birds. Photo: Golden Eagle (Aquila chrysaetos).
Button: Fish. Photo: Brown trout (Salmo trutta). Button: Reptiles. Photo: Komodo dragon (Varanus komodensis).
Button: Amphibians. Photo: Bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeiana). Button: Invertebrates. Photo: House fly (Musca domestica).
Button: Dinosaurs. Illustration: Tyrannosaurus rex. Archive slide: S71-116. Button: Prehistoric. Illustration: Muskox (Ovibos moschatus).
Button: Navigate the World. Illustration: Map of the world.
 
Text: This way to more photos of reptiles. Photo: Common garter snake (Thamnophis sirtalis).

Reproduction Rights    Credits    Explore Nature!    Comments or Questions?

Next Previous Next Previous

Logo de nature.ca - Musée canadien de la nature.
Texte : Logo des Carnets d'histoire naturelle.
 
Bouton : Accueil. Bouton : Ressources. Bouton : Carnets A-Z.
Bouton : English.
Accueil > Reptiles > Gavial du Gange
Texte : Reptiles.
Gavial du Gange
Photo : Gavial du Gange, Gavialis gangeticus.
Gavial du Gange, Gavialis gangeticus
Autres images »

Où vit cet animal? Asie

Carte du monde.


Le gavial est l'une des plus rares espèces de crocodile asiatique. Pendant longtemps, il n’était pas menacé par l’homme; on l’associait au dieu Vishnu et le considérait sacré. Sa population a considérablement diminué bien qu'il soit officiellement protégé depuis les années 1970, surtout parce qu'on le chasse pour le cuir et qu'il est accidentellement tué par des pêcheurs. L'accroissement du trafic fluvial ainsi que l'agriculture l’a également désavantagé. L’espèce est menacée de façon critique dans toute son aire de répartition, qui renferme toutes les principales rivières et voies navigables de l'Inde septentrionale et du Birmanie (Myanmar). En 2006, on estimait la population à l’état sauvage à 200 individus ou moins.

Le gavial du Gange est le crocodile le plus strictement limité à une vie aquatique. Ses pattes sont plutôt faibles, mais ses pattes arrière sont largement palmées et sa queue en forme de pagaie est particulièrement puissante. Habituellement, il ne quitte l’eau que pour se reposer au soleil ou faire son nid.

Les femelles arrivent à maturité lorsqu’elles atteignent environ 3 m (10 pi) (au moins 10 ans). Une femelle pond de 30 à 50 oeufs sur la terre, habituellement sur les bancs de sable. Les nouveau-nés mesurent environ 40 cm (16 po) à l’éclosion. Ils deviennent plutôt imposants : les mâles peuvent atteindre une longueur de plus de 6 m (20 pi).

La caractéristique la plus marquante du gavial du Gange est son long museau étroit—il est environ trois fois et demie plus long que sa largeur à la base. Ce long museau muni de dents acérées est un excellent outil pour saisir les poissons et les grenouilles, mais il n’est pas suffisamment puissant pour les proies plus grosses. Le gavial du Gange est généralement de couleur olive pâle tirant sur le brun roux, avec des taches sombres sur le corps et la queue.


Autres images
Photo : Gavial du Gange, Gavialis gangeticus.


Vous cherchez des photos?

Le Musée canadien de la nature possède des milliers d'images uniques représentant la diversité du monde naturel – incluant les photos et les illustrations de nos Carnets d'histoire naturelle. Veuillez nous joindre pour obtenir plus d'information.


Notice bibliographique pour un usage personnel :
« Gavial du Gange ». [En direct]. Carnets d'histoire naturelle. Musée canadien de la nature.
Dernière mise à jour :  (Site Web consulté le

Bouton : précédent.
Bouton : Mammifères. Photo : lion, Panthera leo. Bouton : Oiseaux. Photo : Aigle royal, Aquila chrysaetos.
Bouton : Poissons. Photo : truite brune, Salmo trutta. Bouton : Reptiles. Photo : varan de Komodo, Varanus komodensis.
Bouton : Amphibiens. Photo : ouaouaron, Lithobates catesbeiana. Bouton : Invertébrés. Photo : mouche domestique, Musca domestica.
Bouton : Dinosaures. Illustration : Tyrannosaurus rex. Diapo d'archive S71-116. Bouton : Préhistoire. Illustration : boeuf musqué, Ovibos moschatus.
Bouton : Explorez le monde. Illustration : carte du monde.
 
Texte : Par ici pour plus de photos de reptiles!  Photo : Couleuvre rayée, Thamnophis sirtalis.

Droits de reproduction    Générique    J'explore la nature!    Commentaires ou questions?

Bouton : précédent. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : Précédent.