Logo of nature.ca - Canadian Museum of Nature.
Logo of Natural History Notebooks.
 
Button: Home. Button: Resources. Button: Notebooks A-Z.
Button: Français.
Home > Mammals > Eland Next
Text: Mammals.
   
Eland
Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx.
Eland, Taurotragus oryx
More Images »

Where are they found? Africa

Map of the world.


Elands are the largest antelopes of Africa, standing about 1.5 m (5 ft.) high at the shoulder. A fully grown male may weigh more than 910 kg (2,000 lb). Both sexes have heavy, spirally twisted horns of up to 1 m (3 ft.) in length.

Herds of female elands with calves often associate with zebras because the two species complement each other in sensory and defensive capabilities. Young elands shield behind their mothers when attacked. The females group together and drive away the predator. This behaviour, while effective against most predators, makes the eland more vulnerable to human hunters.

Elands originally ranged throughout the savannahs and wooded savannahs of south and central Africa. The herds wandered nomadically in response to seasonal changes. Elands have disappeared from large parts of their former range, mainly because of excessive hunting and destruction of the habitat for agriculture. The long-term survival of this species is dependent on good conservation measures.


More Images
Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx. Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx. Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx. Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx. Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx. Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx. Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx. Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx. Photo: Eland, Taurotragus oryx.


Looking for photos?

The Canadian Museum of Nature has thousands of unique images reflecting the diversity of the natural world—including the photos and illustrations here in our Natural History NotebooksContact us to learn more!


To cite this page for personal use:
“Eland”. [Online]. Natural History Notebooks. Canadian Museum of Nature.
Last updated (Web site consulted

Previous
Button: Mammals. Photo: Lion (Panthera leo). Button: Birds. Photo: Golden Eagle (Aquila chrysaetos).
Button: Fish. Photo: Brown trout (Salmo trutta). Button: Reptiles. Photo: Komodo dragon (Varanus komodensis).
Button: Amphibians. Photo: Bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeiana). Button: Invertebrates. Photo: House fly (Musca domestica).
Button: Dinosaurs. Illustration: Tyrannosaurus rex. Archive slide: S71-116. Button: Prehistoric. Illustration: Muskox (Ovibos moschatus).
Button: Navigate the World. Illustration: Map of the world.
 
Text: Play the games and interactives from our Mammal Gallery. Logo: Mammal Gallery.

Reproduction Rights    Credits    Explore Nature!    Comments or Questions?

Next Previous Next Previous

Logo de nature.ca - Musée canadien de la nature.
Texte : Logo des Carnets d'histoire naturelle.
 
Bouton : Accueil. Bouton : Ressources. Bouton : Carnets A-Z.
Bouton : English.
Accueil > Mammifères > Éland du Cap
Texte : Mammifères.
   
Éland du Cap
Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx.
Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx
Autres images »

Où vit cet animal? Afrique

Carte du monde.


L’éland du Cap est la plus grande des antilopes d'Afrique, mesurant environ 1,5 m (5 pi) au garrot. Le mâle adulte peut peser plus de 910 kg (2 000 lb). Les deux sexes portent de fortes cornes en spirale pouvant atteindre 1 m (3 pi) de longueur.

Des troupeaux de femelles et de jeunes s’associent souvent aux zèbres parce que leurs capacités sensorielles et défensives se complètent. Les jeunes élands se cachent derrière leur mère lorsqu’ils sont attaqués. Les femelles se regroupent et chassent le prédateur. Cette façon de faire, efficace avec la plupart des prédateurs, rend cependant l’éland plus vulnérable aux attaques de l’humain.

L’éland se déplaçait autrefois, au gré des changements saisonniers, dans les savanes et les prairies boisées du sud et du centre de l’Afrique. Il a aujourd’hui disparu d’une bonne partie de son aire de distribution, principalement en raison d’une chasse excessive et de la destruction de son habitat au profit de l’agriculture. Sa survie à long terme dépend de mesures de conservation efficaces.


Autres images
Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx. Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx. Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx. Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx. Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx. Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx. Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx. Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx. Photo : Éland du Cap, Taurotragus oryx.


Vous cherchez des photos?

Le Musée canadien de la nature possède des milliers d'images uniques représentant la diversité du monde naturel – incluant les photos et les illustrations de nos Carnets d'histoire naturelle. Veuillez nous joindre pour obtenir plus d'information.


Notice bibliographique pour un usage personnel :
« Éland du Cap ». [En direct]. Carnets d'histoire naturelle. Musée canadien de la nature.
Dernière mise à jour :  (Site Web consulté le

Bouton : précédent.
Bouton : Mammifères. Photo : lion, Panthera leo. Bouton : Oiseaux. Photo : Aigle royal, Aquila chrysaetos.
Bouton : Poissons. Photo : truite brune, Salmo trutta. Bouton : Reptiles. Photo : varan de Komodo, Varanus komodensis.
Bouton : Amphibiens. Photo : ouaouaron, Lithobates catesbeiana. Bouton : Invertébrés. Photo : mouche domestique, Musca domestica.
Bouton : Dinosaures. Illustration : Tyrannosaurus rex. Diapo d'archive S71-116. Bouton : Préhistoire. Illustration : boeuf musqué, Ovibos moschatus.
Bouton : Explorez le monde. Illustration : carte du monde.
 
Texte : Au jeu! Découvrez les jeux et les activités interactives de notre Galerie des mammifères. Logo : Galerie des mammifères.

Droits de reproduction    Générique    J'explore la nature!    Commentaires ou questions?

Bouton : précédent. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : Précédent.