Logo of nature.ca - Canadian Museum of Nature.
Logo of Natural History Notebooks.
 
Button: Home. Button: Resources. Button: Notebooks A-Z.
Button: Français.
Home > Reptiles > Crocodiles Next
Text: Reptiles.
   
Crocodiles
Photo: Crocodile, Crocodylus.
Crocodile, Crocodylus
More Images »

Where are they found? AfricaAsiaAustraliaNorth AmericaSouth America

Map of the world.


People often confuse crocodiles with alligators. In contrast to the blunt-snouted alligators, crocodiles have a tapered snout. The fourth tooth on each side (counting outward from the centre front) of the crocodile's lower jaw fits into a corresponding pit above that is open to the outside, so the teeth stick out when their jaws are closed.

Fourteen species of crocodiles are recognized (as of 2008); depending on the species, crocodiles vary in size ranging between 1 and 10 metres in length (3 to 33 ft.). Crocodiles larger than 3 metres long (10 ft.) have no enemies apart from humans.

Crocodiles eat fish, birds and mammals, including the occasional human. Cannibalistic, they also eat each other. Because larger crocodiles will eat smaller ones, the individuals in a grouping will usually be about the same size, smaller crocodiles having been eaten or avoiding larger ones.

One species of bird called the Crocodile Bird wanders freely among the basking Nile crocodiles (Crocodylus niloticus), picking leeches and parasites from their skins, and food fragments from their mouths. They live in harmony, the Crocodile Bird providing a lookout for danger for the crocodile and a tooth-cleaning service in exchange for food.

Crocodiles are cold-blooded. Their body temperatures are only as warm as the surrounding temperature. If the temperature is high, they slip into the water. If the air is cool, they like basking in the sun, and do so in groupings, and with their mouths open. Mouth gaping is similar to the panting of a dog; it helps a crocodile cool off.

Crocodiles are found in the warmer waters of Africa, Asia, Australia, North America and South America. Some species live in fresh water, and some in salt water. The salt water species tend to be the larger ones.


More Images
Photo: Nile Crocodile, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo: Nile Crocodile, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo: Nile Crocodile, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo: Nile Crocodile, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo: Nile Crocodile, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo: Salt Water Crocodile, Crocodylus porosus.


Looking for photos?

The Canadian Museum of Nature has thousands of unique images reflecting the diversity of the natural world—including the photos and illustrations here in our Natural History NotebooksContact us to learn more!


To cite this page for personal use:
“Crocodiles”. [Online]. Natural History Notebooks. Canadian Museum of Nature.
Last updated (Web site consulted

Previous
Button: Mammals. Photo: Lion (Panthera leo). Button: Birds. Photo: Golden Eagle (Aquila chrysaetos).
Button: Fish. Photo: Brown trout (Salmo trutta). Button: Reptiles. Photo: Komodo dragon (Varanus komodensis).
Button: Amphibians. Photo: Bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeiana). Button: Invertebrates. Photo: House fly (Musca domestica).
Button: Dinosaurs. Illustration: Tyrannosaurus rex. Archive slide: S71-116. Button: Prehistoric. Illustration: Muskox (Ovibos moschatus).
Button: Navigate the World. Illustration: Map of the world.
 
Text: This way to more photos of reptiles. Photo: Common garter snake (Thamnophis sirtalis).

Reproduction Rights    Credits    Explore Nature!    Comments or Questions?

Next Previous Next Previous

Logo de nature.ca - Musée canadien de la nature.
Texte : Logo des Carnets d'histoire naturelle.
 
Bouton : Accueil. Bouton : Ressources. Bouton : Carnets A-Z.
Bouton : English.
Accueil > Reptiles > Crocodiles
Texte : Reptiles.
   
Crocodiles
Photo : Crocodile, Crocodylus.
Crocodile, Crocodylus
Autres images »

Où vit cet animal? AfriqueAmérique du NordAmérique du SudAsieAustralie

Carte du monde.


On confond souvent crocodile et alligator. Contrairement à ce dernier, le crocodile possède un museau allongé. Les quatrièmes dents (en comptant à partir de l’avant au centre) de chaque côté de la mâchoire inférieure se logent dans une encoche de la mâchoire supérieure de telle manière qu’elles sortent de la bouche quand celle-ci est fermée.

La taille des crocodiles varie selon les espèces : de 1 m à 10 m (3 à 33 pi) de longueur. Les crocodiles de plus de 3 m (10 pi) n’ont guère de prédateurs à part l’humain.

Les crocodiles se nourrissent de poissons, d’oiseaux et de mammifères, dont des humains à l’occasion. Ils sont aussi cannibales et s’entredévorent. Parce que les crocodiles mangent les plus petits, les membres d’un groupe sont tous à peu près de la même taille : les petits ont été mangés ou ont eu la prudence de s’éloigner.

Le Pluvian fluviatile est un oiseau qui circule librement sur les crocodiles du Nil, les débarrassant des sangsues et des parasites logés sur leur peau et même des restes de nourriture entre les dents. Ils vivent en harmonie, l’oiseau avertissant le crocodile d’éventuels dangers et lui nettoyant les dents en échange de nourriture.

Les crocodiles sont des animaux à sang froid. La température de leur corps correspond à celle du milieu ambiant. Quand il fait trop chaud, ils se glissent dans l’eau. Quand il fait frais, ils se prélassent au soleil en groupe et la gueule ouverte. Comme le chien qui halète, ils ouvrent la bouche pour se rafraîchir.

On rencontre les crocodiles dans les eaux chaudes d’Afrique, d’Asie, d’Australie, d’Amérique du Nord et d’Amérique du Sud. Certaines espèces vivent dans l’eau douce, d’autres dans l’eau salée. Les espèces d’eau salée sont les plus grosses.


Autres images
Photo : Crocodile du Nil, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo : Crocodile du Nil, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo : Crocodile du Nil, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo : Crocodile du Nil, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo : Crocodile du Nil, Crocodylus niloticus. Photo : Crocodile marin, Crocodylus porosus.


Vous cherchez des photos?

Le Musée canadien de la nature possède des milliers d'images uniques représentant la diversité du monde naturel – incluant les photos et les illustrations de nos Carnets d'histoire naturelle. Veuillez nous joindre pour obtenir plus d'information.


Notice bibliographique pour un usage personnel :
« Crocodiles ». [En direct]. Carnets d'histoire naturelle. Musée canadien de la nature.
Dernière mise à jour :  (Site Web consulté le

Bouton : précédent.
Bouton : Mammifères. Photo : lion, Panthera leo. Bouton : Oiseaux. Photo : Aigle royal, Aquila chrysaetos.
Bouton : Poissons. Photo : truite brune, Salmo trutta. Bouton : Reptiles. Photo : varan de Komodo, Varanus komodensis.
Bouton : Amphibiens. Photo : ouaouaron, Lithobates catesbeiana. Bouton : Invertébrés. Photo : mouche domestique, Musca domestica.
Bouton : Dinosaures. Illustration : Tyrannosaurus rex. Diapo d'archive S71-116. Bouton : Préhistoire. Illustration : boeuf musqué, Ovibos moschatus.
Bouton : Explorez le monde. Illustration : carte du monde.
 
Texte : Par ici pour plus de photos de reptiles!  Photo : Couleuvre rayée, Thamnophis sirtalis.

Droits de reproduction    Générique    J'explore la nature!    Commentaires ou questions?

Bouton : précédent. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : suivant. Bouton : Précédent.