Plan Ahead!

As of December 1, visitors aged 12 and over must show proof of vaccination. Learn more. Purchase tickets in advance.

  1. Home>
  2. Research & Collections>
  3. Research Projects>
  4. Past Research Projects>
  5. The Biodiversity Crisis

The Biodiversity Crisis

Symposium: April 22, 2021

This virtual symposium brings together a diverse array of specialists who offer perspectives on the ongoing global biodiversity crisis.

Watch the Live Stream

Thursday, April 22, 2021
8:30 am – 5 pm, Eastern daylight time (UTC −04)

Registration is free of charge; registration is required.

Please contact kmajewski@nature.ca to register for this event.

We will email registrants a link to the live stream of the symposium.

Symposium Program

The speakers will present in English.

  • Keynote speakers:
    • Camille Parmesan, Ph.D., French National Centre for Scientific Research and Paul-Sabatier University
    • Gerardo Ceballos, Ph.D., Instituto de Ecologia, National Autonomous University of Mexico
  • A full day of online presentations with a breakout discussion session and lightning talks.
  • Optional public online talk on Wednesday, April 21: Advait Jukar, Ph.D., Yale University, and Danielle Fraser, Ph.D., Canadian Museum of Nature.

Symposium program.

Present Your Work 

Lightning Talks 

We invite applications for the presentation of a five-minute lightning talk at the symposium. 

Please submit a 300-word abstract to Danielle Fraser: dfraser@nature.ca

Deadlines:

  • Abstract: April 6
  • Review and decisions: April 9.

The number of lightning talks is limited to a maximum of 12.

The Organizers

The Biodiversity Crisis symposium is organized by The Beaty Centre for Species Discovery at the Canadian Museum of Nature.

Danielle Fraser, Ph.D.
Director
The Beaty Centre for Species Discovery
Canadian Museum of Nature
dfraser@nature.ca

Organizational Committee 

Jean-Marc Gagnon, Ph.D.
Chief Scientist
Canadian Museum of Nature
jmgagnon@nature.ca

Katriina Ilves, Ph.D.
Section Head, Zoology
Research Scientist
Canadian Museum of Nature
kilves@nature.ca

Kamal Khidas, Ph.D.
Curator, Zoology
Canadian Museum of Nature
khidas@nature.ca

Amanda Savoie, Ph.D.
Director
The Centre for Arctic Knowledge and Exploration
Canadian Museum of Nature
asavoie@nature.ca

Paul Sokoloff, M.Sc.
Senior Research Assistant, Botany
Canadian Museum of Nature
psokoloff@nature.ca